Reading Update – 25/09/21

Reading Update – 25/09/21

I’ve recently created a Facebook Page called Passionate Book Blogger where my blog post links will appear along with an upbeat summary. You can also follow my page to keep up to date. I’ll also be adding updates there that probably won’t appear on my blog, such as what I’m reading or what I’ve bought and a picture of the book. When we come out of lock-down I’d love to go to some bookshops and libraries so I can browse and buy or borrow and share it with you on Facebook. I’ve recently bought 2 books: a beautiful Macmillan edition of Three Men In A Boat by Jerome K. Jerome which is on my Facebook Page, and an Ebook called The Holiday by Richmal Crompton. Three Men In A Boat is about 3 Victorian Englishman that go on a boating holiday together to much hilarity. I’m currently reading The Holiday which is a classic set in 1901 about a preacher and his family who go on holiday in the countryside near Manchester in England. It’s bleak in parts and slow moving so it probably won’t be a favourite.

Winter In Thrush Green by Miss Read is the next book in the Thrush Green Series which I’d like to read. I recently read the first book in the series called Thrush Green. I enjoyed reading about the quiet life in a country village and following the various characters such as Molly, the Church Warden’s daughter, the family who runs the Fair, the Doctor’s in the village and many other lovable, and less delightful characters. In Winter In Thrush Green a stranger arrives in the village and is the cause of much fascination. A memoir I’m looking forward to is 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff about an American woman’s correspondence with a bookshop in London for 20 years from 1950-1970.

Leave a comment