Reading Update – 17/02/24

Reading Update – 17/02/24

I’m currently on the last chapter of Miss Mole by E. H. Young, about a fun, complicated and sharp-witted housekeeper newly living with a non-conformist Minister and his family in 1920’s England. The final reveal is coming up in the last chapter which I think will be surprising to me and the main character. I liked Miss Mole because she’s rebelling against a traditionally molded world and doing her own thing. She gets to know the Reverend Corder and his family, his two daughters and their handsome cousin Wilfred and tries to befriend them despite herself. But it’s her quirks, her quick wit and seeing her history as she is slowly revealed which I enjoyed so much.

Next I plan to read an E. F. Benson novel called Lucia in London. I’ve read his first book in the Mapp and Lucia series called Queen Lucia which is very funny. Here is my review. Lucia in London is the third book in the series, skipping over Miss Mapp because one needs some armour for her, and is about controlling socialite Lucia in the town of Riseholme and her trip to London in 1920’s England. At the beginning of the novel she and her husband Pepino seem to have inherited something from Pepino’s aunt and as the title shows much of the action occurs in London. E. F. Benson is known for satirizing certain trends of the time such as Yoga, Vegetarianism and Seances. I look forward to Lucia’s London adventures.

This year I’m looking forward to listening to an audiobook through a library ebook app called IndyReads. The book is called Call A for Aunties by Jesse Q. Sutanto about how the main character accidentally kills her date and her full on Asian Aunties come to her rescue. I’ve put it on hold in the app and won’t be able to listen until August because I’m about 6th in line on the reservation list. But it will be worth to hear the drama come to life in audio.

Leave a comment