Baking: A Birthday Cake from Nigella

Baking: A Birthday Cake from Nigella

Recently it was my birthday and being very gluten-intolerant I baked my own cake. It was a new recipe from Nigella’s website called Almond and Orange Blossom Cake and I can tell you now it was delicious. I’ve baked gluten free cakes of hers before and they mostly turn out well.

Now my version is very rustic looking which I think has a nice effect with some icing sugar sprinkled on the top. Due to a mistake mine broke in half and some of the sides stuck to the sides of the cake tin. This ended up being the silver lining as these ‘crusts’ were nice and crunchy and were a moreish treat. The taste was super sweet with the beautiful taste of almond extract (think almond croissants) and the honeyed essence of orange flower blossom. It’s was lovely and moist which I wasn’t expecting and very orangey. See the recipe here: https://www.nigella.com/recipes/almond-and-orange-blossom-cake

I also got a cute little teapot and cup and saucer and filled with tea it would make a nice accompaniment to a bit of cake and a book.

Leave a comment