Reading Update – 15/08/21

Reading Update – 15/08/21

I was recently reading Spring Fever by P. G. Wodehouse but I found it a dud. The plot revolves around Lord Shortlands who wants to marry his cook, an American called Stanwood with a rich father who prohibits him from marrying Eileen a Hollywood actress, and his friend Mike who is determined to have Terry, Lord Shortlands youngest daughter, to marry him despite repeated rejections. A lot of the action takes place in Lord Shortlands castle in the English countryside. Although I love Wodehouse’s novels several things put me off this book. I heartily disliked Mike who talked to Terry awfully because she’d rejects him and I put it down when he basically asks if he can punch her. Terry actually likes him but doesn’t trust him which shows her bad taste in men. Then a bunch of them gang up on Stanwood’s valet and threaten him with bodily harm so he’s forced to abandon his religious beliefs so they can break open the safe. Finally, a great Queen, Catherine the Great of Russia is reduced to a terrifying and domineering woman. This Wodehouse just doesn’t make the cut. His Blandings Castle series is wonderful along with some stand alone novels. Frozen Assets is a particularly good example and hilarious too.

I’ve picked up a children’s book from my collection called Charmed Life by Diana Wynne Jones, about Gwendolen Chant, a witch, and her younger brother. After that I think I’ll pick up The Muse by Jessie Burton about Odelle, a Trinidad typist working for an art gallery in London in the late 1960’s. When a painting goes missing a mystery unfolds. I tried it a few years ago and got stuck but I’d like to try again.

The above magazines are Frankie, a special mental health edition, and Breathe, a mindfulness magazine. I’m looking forward to perusing these.