Reading Update – 17/07/21

Reading Update – 17/07/21

First of all I’ll say we are in another lock-down which keeps getting extended and finally they’ve implemented harsher measures by closing all shops except for essential services and take-away for food shops. We’re looking at 2 months I’d say so everyone is finding it difficult. It does give many plenty of time to read though which is promising. I’m currently reading a novel on my kindle, all 400 pages, called Cordelia Underwood: Or, the Marvelous Beginnings of the Moosepath League by Van Reid. It involves a convoluted plot with many characters and is historical fiction set in Maine (USA) in the 1890’s. There is a mystery to be uncovered and some romance too. I love the eccentric characters and the humorous scenes of which there are many.

Some books I’m excited about are:

  • Betsy-Tacy series by Maud Hart Lovelace set in the early 1900’s in Minnesota (USA) about two best friends experiencing childhood and adolescence.
  • An English translation from the Italian – a biography about Oriana Fallaci by Cristina De Stefano – about a radical journalist from Italy.
  • The Beauties by Anton Chekhov (Pushkin Press) – some of his short stories – need I say more about this Russian Classic author.
  • The Feast by Margaret Kennedy about a hotel that collapses and the characters before this tragedy.

Happy reading!